Luis-Johnson
Written by Luis Johnson

How to Get Featured in Business Insider

Featured in Business Insider

Build media relations for your company with Business Insider

These days, everybody is talking about media relationships and influencers. And it’s for a good reason that every business owner wants to build relationships with the media in order to reach as many influencers as possible. Indeed what they want is to have influencers talk about that specific product or service to other people. An influencer is someone who influences other people, in many cases online; he/she is normally somebody with a blog or with a large social media following. It’s really anybody who has the power, the authority and the social status to get other people to listen to what they have to say. The best way to get an influencer on your side is through media coverage. Media gives added credibility to your story and brand, making easier for other people (including influencers) to believe, too. 

Business Insider editors and reporters contact list
Editor NamePositionEmail Contact
Biz Carson bcarson@businessinsider.com
Ryan Bushey rbushey@businessinsider.com
Lisa Eadicicco leadicicco@businessinsider.com
MARCELO BALLVE MBALLVE@Businessinsider.com
Julie BortEditor, Enterprise Computingjbort@businessinsider.com
EMILY ADLERManaging Editoreadler@businessinsider.com
James CookUK Tech Reporterjcook@businessinsider.com
Jillian D’OnfroTech Reporterjdonfro@businessinsider.com
Drake BaerIdeas Editordbaer@businessinsider.com
Emily Cohn ecohn@techinsider.io
Jim Edwards jedwards@businessinsider.com
Michael KelleySenior News Editormkelley@businessinsider.com
Pascal-Emmanuel GobrySenior Research Analystpeg@peg.im
JOHN HEGGESTUEN johnh@businessinsider.com
Cale Guthrie WeissmanMobile + IOT reportercweissman@businessinsider.com
Richard FeloniReporter, Business Strategyrfeloni@businessinsider.com
Mark HoelzelAnalystmhoelzel@businessinsider.com
editors contributors@businessinsider.com
Antonia Farzan afarzan@businessinsider.com
Lucy England lengland@businessinsider.com
Leanna GarfieldIntern, food, identity, and sustainabilitylgarfield@businessinsider.com
Molly MulshineSenior Editor, digital culturemmulshine@businessinsider.com
Karyne LevyWest Coast Editorklevy@businessinsider.com
Alexei OreskovicTech Editoraoreskovic@businessinsider.com
Eugene Kim ekim@businessinsider.com
Hayley PetersonRetail Reporterhpeterson@businessinsider.com
Steve KovachSenior Tech Editorskovach@businessinsider.com
Caroline MossTech Reportercmoss@businessinsider.com
Rob PriceReporterrprice@businessinsider.com
Rob PriceUK Technology Reporterrprice@businessinsider.com
Jonathan MarinoSenior Finance Writerjmarino@businessinsider.com
Lara O’ReillyGlobal Advertising Editorloreilly@businessinsider.com
Kevin Loria kloria@techinsider.io
Nathan McAloneTech Reporternmcalone@businessinsider.com
Jennifer PollandSenior Editor, Travel, Lists and Rankingsjpolland@businessinsider.com
Lydia RamseyReporter, pharmaceutical and biotech industrieslramsey@businessinsider.com
Portia CroweStaff Writerpcrowe@businessinsider.com
Rob Wile rwile@businessinsider.com
tips@businessinsider.com tips@businessinsider.com
Tech Editors sai@businessinsider.com
Madeline Stone mstone@businessinsider.com
Alyson ShontellDeputy Editor, technology, science, and entertainment sectionsashontell@businessinsider.com
Dave SmithSenior Tech Editordsmith@businessinsider.com
Jay YarowSAI Senior Editorjyarow@businessinsider.com
Jacquelyn SmithEditorjsmith@businessinsider.com
Steven Tweedie stweedie@businessinsider.com
Dina SpectorLondon/UK Editordspector@businessinsider.com
Matt WeinbergerReporter, Technologymweinberger@businessinsider.com
Kate TaylorStaff Writerktaylor@businessinsider.com
Cooper SmithSenior Analystcsmith@businessinsider.com
Stephanie YangReportersyang@businessinsider.com
Matt RosoffEditor, Tech Verticalmrosoff@businessinsider.com
Cadie ThompsonEmerging Tech Editor, TechInsiderCThompson@techinsider.io
Brandon WorkmanContributorbrandon@sabrecapitalgroup.com
Myles UdlandContributorbrandon@sabrecapitalgroup.com
Megan WillettReportermwillett@techinsider.io
Max Slater-Robinseditorial internmslaterrobins@businessinsider.com
Sarah SchmalbruchTravel Reportersschmalbruch@businessinsider.com
[stm_sidebar sidebar=”2338″]
 
 

Looking for a First-Class Brand Consultant?

 
While reaching out to journalists for acquiring media coverage, there are some essential rules for creating lasting relationships that could be incredibly powerful for your business:

Dating etiquette applies
When you’re reaching out to editors or really anybody that you want to build a relationship with, you cannot go for the gold the first time you contact them. Don’t try to pitch them, don’t try to sell them, don’t try to make them do stuff for you, because they will not want to be your friend. Instead, be engaging and be engaged; answering questions and asking questions provides value. Be interested in being a good listener; that’s a great first step.

Do your homework
The more you can learn about an editor, the more you can stand to make a good impression on them. How do they like to be contacted? Do they like comments on their blog? Or do they not really get to the comments section on their blog very often? Do they like to hear from you via email or via social media? Some people love to use Twitter so, if they do, contact them on Twitter. Use the platform they like the most. Also, if you subscribe to someone’s email list, you might start to understand what they like or want they want you to comment on. Do they want you to just respond to their emails? Whatever is that they’re asking for, just giving it to them is a great start.

The first thing I must stress is that you don’t just rush into PR where you’re like “hey I’ve got this product, can you write about it?” PR should be a part of your business plan; you have to do your research as in any other element of the business plan. You can successfully pitch your story to a journalist and come up with some strong news angles. However, it is really important to know what journalists are after when picking up stories that are mentioned in their articles.